Choosing Joy

Keep Choosing Joy

My whole life people have always said I was always the happy child with a smile on my face.  Of course when I was little, the first few months of my life all I would do is frown…

I stumbled upon this article called “5 Habits That Sabotage Joy” that Relevant Magazine had posted on their Facebook page and it really got methinking.  So often I find myself getting caught up in the struggles of life and the roadblocks that come between us and it’s hard to find happiness in that moment.

Last night I met with my mentor small group, and we were talking about how it’s so easy for us to have an exact plan as to what we’re going to and what we want to do.  And somehow, it never goes exactly how we want it to, because God has His way of steering us into a different direction.  For me, that can be so frustrating, because I just want things to go my way, right now.

In todays society, we’re all so used to getting things instantly and we want things “right now!”.  Patience is something that I know I have to work on.  But it’s not easy.  I was thinking after reading this article about myself and asked myself “How often do I look for joy when things don’t go my way?”.  Why is it that somehow we’ve become this society that is so negative and cynical? And I’ll admit, I’ve fallen into that trap too.  But why is it so hard for us to get out of that trap and find real joy?

 

2 thoughts on “Choosing Joy

Leave a Reply

