Back to School: Involvement in College

For those of you who are starting college as a Freshman, I really encourage you to all find ways to get involved on campus.  Make your college experience more than waking up and going to class.  Get involved!  It’s a great way to meet new people and make the most of your college experience.  Who knows, you could quite possibly meet people who will be in your life forever.

One of my favorite things was being a part of the Bel Canto Women’s Choir at Azusa Pacific University the past four years. As I’m talking with friends who are currently in Bel Canto, I’m realizing how different my life is now and how much Bel Canto has really affected my life.

Going into Bel Canto my Freshman year, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  At that point it was about 70 girls in the choir, and I had never really been in a group with that many girls.  All throughout high school, I was always in a mixed choir.  It was really nerve racking because I didn’t know anyone going into choir.  However, as the year went on, I met so many great people and I made some amazing friends.  To be honest, I almost didn’t come back for Sophomore year, because it was such a time commitment.  We had concerts on the weekends, and 6 hours a week of rehearsal.  Little did I know, that Bel Canto would really be a huge part of my college career.

It’s okay to take chances and step out of your comfort zone.  As time went on, I began to gain more responsibility in choir and I really found ownership in choir.  I was given opportunities to step out of my comfort zone and take on other tasks that I normally would have never taken.  I was able to learn a lot about myself and how to work with other people in a work setting.  I learned how to be professional when sending an email and making a phone call.  I got over my fear of “cold-calling” people while working on details for each concert.

By getting involved in on campus activities during college, you are able to learn so much about yourself.  You are able to find a way to get connected with others.  So do it.  If you don’t feel comfortable in the first group you try to get involved in, try another one.   It might be scary at first, but you’ll get over it.

back-to-school-4

 

One thought on “Back to School: Involvement in College

Leave a Reply

