Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!  I was surprised at work the other day with special Valentine’s Day cookies in my mail box.  And I was a little more happy about them because my co-worker is on a diet, and I got his cookies!  I hope you’re all having a fun day celebrating, and if you don’t have a special one to share this day with, text or call a friend to tell them how much you love them and thai them for being your friend!

via Instagram
via Instagram

I always do some sort of post on Valentine’s Day, if not the day after.  Valentine’s Day has always been a special day for me.  Not just because it’s a lovey-dovey holiday, and everyone is wearing either red or pink while eating their chocolate and reading their cheesy little Valentine’s Day notes they’ve received.  No. This day is extremely special to me.  22 years ago today, the best parents in the world that I could’ve ever asked for, adopted me from China.  From the very beginning (despite our discussions, that could end up becoming very heated at times), my parents have always supported me 110% in everything that I did/do.  Whether it’s a little thing or a big thing, they’re always celebrating those victories with me.

Many people ask me if I ever want to go back and find my birth parents or other random things that have to do with adoption.  But honestly, because I was adopted at 2 months old, I’ve never had that thought.  My parents are my parents. They’ve always been my parents for as long as I can remember.  And that’s the way God intended it to be.

As I was scrolling through the Facebook pages of my two friends who were adopted with me, I came across this article that I was interviewed for 5 years ago.  APU was doing an article for their online magazine about adoption.  The lady whose door step I was left on told my parents, and the parents of the other girls that were adopted with me, “You’re going to want to take all these kids home with you but you have one, so make an impact on their life”.

unnamed

I was adopted on the same day as two other girls, Annie and Molly.  Because Annie and I only lived about an hour apart from each other, and went to ‘sister’ churches, there was always that constant connection and we were always able to see each other.  Because Molly lived in Washington, and now Canada, though we can’t see each other very often, we at least have Facebook to keep in touch.  But if we hadn’t been adopted, we probably wouldn’t have met and had that special connection to one another that we have today.

To Annie: Yes, I will always call you Annie. No matter what.  Though we’ve had our ups and downs, you’ll always be my best life-long friend.  I know I can always count on you to be there for me when I need you.  Even if that means you spontaneously drive down to see me when I’m having a bad day (remember that??).  We’ve traveled the world together. We’ve gone to Thailand and seen what ZOE can do to change a child’s life.  We’ve traveled back to China together, to see where we came from.  And we still have more adventures to come.

1917136_205367172791_2887350_n
In Thailand

 

To Molly:  Though we don’t talk often and we don’t see each other very often, at all (we should change that soon!), we will always have this special day that connects us.  We will always have each other as our ‘Chinese Sisters’.

In San Francisco
In San Francisco

Leave a Reply

