Post Grad Life: Living on a Budget

via Instagram
via Instagram

Confession: I am HORRIBLE when it comes to managing my money.  Anyone in my family will tell you that.  And it’s something that I am continually learning how to do.  I’ve tried different methods here and there, and it seems like I can’t stick with anything. So, I’m now writing about it hoping to use it as a way of accountability.  I’ve compiled a list of different strategies from many other people and I’m now working on putting everything together to make it work for me.  It’s gotten even more difficult as I am now living on my “own”.

Immediately once I decided to make this decision, I created an Excel file on Google Drive.  (I’m starting to transfer all of my important documents onto Google Drive, that way I can access the anywhere on any device!)  On this file, it has a list of all my incoming money and a list of my outgoing reoccurring expensive (utilities, bills,etc.).  I’m also going to be using this to track all of my expenses and really see where my money is going.  I am hoping that by me actually having to track it and write it down, that it will help cut costs down.  We’re half way through the month of February, and it definitely is helping me to be more conscious.  Especially since I’m having to make sure that I track it and am making sure I am keeping up to date on it.

The second thing I did was look on Pinterest for ways to do meal planning.  With my busy schedule, I don’t have much time to think about what to eat every single night, what to take for lunch to work, and I obviously can’t afford to eat out every night too.  I came across this article about monthly meal planning and found that they had created their own master grocery shopping list.  I loved this idea and tweaked theirs to make it my own master shopping list.  When I do my shopping, I usually try to only go to one store.  With this list, I plan on printing it out, going through my kitchen and even the rest of home, to see what I need to stock up on and what I already have.  I’m hoping this will cut down on the very familiar occurrence of me buying something that I seem to already have!  If this system seems to prove itself to work, I’ll definitely be sharing it with all of you!  I’m tired of eating Mac n’ Cheese, Spaghetti, and frozen food. It’s time to start eating healthier, by actually starting to go grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

