A Big Change

Confession: I’m currently sitting at my desk writing this wishing I was back at Target in the nice air conditioning.  It’s 90 degrees outside, and my building doesn’t turn on the chillers until May 1st.  Let the countdown begin. 

I don’t know about you, but I feel completely lost when things just seem like they’re not falling into place.  This past weekend was a much needed mini vacation.  Shawn and I drove up north to my parents house on Friday evening after I got off work.  That weekend was the most relaxed I have felt in a long time.  I didn’t have to worry about work or school or anything like that.  Saturday my cousin came down from San Francisco and we grabbed dinner together and saw McFarland USA.  (I’ll put the trailer in at the bottom of this post.)  If you have not seen it, GO SEE IT.  It is such a great movie.  It’s nice because it’s a movie that isn’t all about pop culture things.  It’s a true story about people who work hard.

Sunday was another very relaxing day.  We went down to Monterey for church, golf, and a family dinner!  I’m not the best golfer.  I don’t see myself becoming a pro anytime soon, or within the next 100 years.  But it’s fun and I like it.  It’s something fun that Shawn loves to do and I can just tag along and attempt to do my best.  We went with two of my uncles to celebrate their birthdays early and then had dinner at my favorite (When I saw favorite, I mean FAVORITE.  I dream of their food sometimes…) restaurant, China Delight, in Carmel, CA.

14070_10153171166752792_2708126162255855390_n

via Instagram
via Instagram

Since I had yesterday off of work, Shawn and I drove back early Monday morning.  But as relaxing as the weekend was, a big decision was definitely made this past weekend.  I’ve decided that I’m going to continue school (even though I’m SO ready to be done) and move my education into Special Education to become a Special Education teacher.  I absolutely LOVE my job right now and I don’t want to stop working in that field.  So here I go again, on another adventure to researching schools, doing all the applications again, and writing more papers.  But this time, I’m actually excited about it.  I’m motivated and ready to go.

4 thoughts on “A Big Change

  1. Yaaaayyy!! Go Karissa! 🙂 I miss you! can’t wait to see you when i get back from Ecuador!
    You’re an amazing person and definitely someone i look up to, happy to read that you’re doing what you love! Know we’re all here for you and love & support you

Leave a Reply

