Mini Summer Vacation

I have to admit, this post is being posted a week late.  But regardless, I still want to take some time to catch up since I’m home now and getting back into the swing of things, now that all my vacations are over.

—–

As I write this post, I am currently in an airplane.  Though my flight was delayed a good 2, almost 3 hours, my trip home was so fun and so worth it.  It was nice to be able to relax (much needed!) and spend time with my parents.  Though the days went by quickly, I do get to see them again in a couple days!  My parents are driving down south tomorrow for our big family vacation in Palm Desert.  Shawn and I aren’t able to go the whole week, but we are taking a couple days off and driving down Wednesday evening after we get off work.  Though it’ll be HOT, I’m excited to hang out with my whole family playing games and visiting with one another.

My visit home was quite a busy one! Wednesday morning, I met up with one of my childhood friends (who’s also a blogger friend!) Stephanie.  We found this cute little cafe and got some little pastry type things.  The food was delicious and the company of course was wonderful too!  I always love when I get to visit with old friends, and putting that with food makes it all the more better.
Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 1.23.08 PM
via Instagram
The following morning, my parents and I drove down to Central California for a mini vacation.  We had decided to go see the giant sequoia trees at Sequoia National Park in the Central Valley of California.  Definitely a must-see!  We stayed in Visalia, which was about an hour from the park. It was absolutely beautiful!! We saw two little cubs, as well as 2 yellow-bellied marmots.  What I liked about the park was we could drive to a visitors center, park, and a shuttle too us to different parts of the park that we wanted to see.  We got to see some of the tallest trees in the world and we also got to go hike around a meadow.
via Instagram
via Instagram
Later that evening, I was able to meet up with my friend Katie and she showed me all around Visalia and I even got a special tour of her family’s farm! I definitely learned so much from her.  It was such a neat experience that a city girl like me, rarely gets.
via Instagram
via Instagram

Leave a Reply

