Blessings

2016 has not been the ideal year so far.  God has a funny way of throwing everyone curve balls.  And isn’t it funny how your life is NEVER how you plan it to be, no matter how much planning you can actually do?!  Or is that just me… But as I lay here in bed at (it’s currently 3:15 AM) with a 1-year old next to me (another story for another day – message me if you really want to know what’s going on), I’m reminded how blessed I actually am and how often I forget to really think about it.  It’s so easy for me to focus on the negativity of everything going on in my life, that I’m realizing it starts to consume every thought I have.

So let’s step out of our comfort zone and talk about our blessings and being thankful now, rather than waiting until November.  I want to challenge you all to stop for a few minutes, and just make a list of all the blessings you have in your life despite the crummy going on.  Some examples to just share with you…

  1. The student I work with has been going through a tough time so I’ve kind of been subbing around at different schools in my district, and I’m not the biggest fan of subbing since I like stability and routine.  But at the same time, I’m just so thankful to have a job in a district I like, and it’s a job where I get to work with children.  Though some days are better than others, the good outweighs the bad, and it’s all been a wonderful learning opportunity for myself.
  2. I am so thankful for my family.  I know what’s going on isn’t easy on my parents at all, but I’m extremely grateful that they are still there for me.  I’m thankful that they still support me no matter what and continue to pray for me.  But I know that curve balls in life were never in our plan and it’s hard to understand why we have these curve balls, especially the big ones.
  3. Lastly, I’m thankful for my friends.  Friends who will bring over meals last minute.  Friends who will come to just sit with you and pray with you.  Friends who have gone out of their own busy schedules to come over and let you talk and vent.  Friends who just text to say ‘hey, how are you REALLY doing?’.

So who and what are you thankful for? If you want to take this a step further, talk to those people and tell them that you’re thankful for them.

Lastly, I want to share this song with you, because it’s been playing nonstop in my home.

Leave a Reply

