4 Tidbits

I’ve learned a lot about myself in the past four months.  I’ve learned that I can’t do it all, as much as I’d like to. I’ve learned that flying with a baby absolutely stinks, especially when someone asks if the crying baby is going to be on their flight.  I’ve learned that sometimes, you can’t control everything- especially the messes. And lastly, I’ve learned that you can do anything you set your mind to, and it’s that much easier if you have a great support network around you.

I always said I wasn’t going to be the kind of person that sits around.  Well, 2016 sure hasn’t been a sit around kind of year. How is it almost June?!  It feels like just a week ago I was making plans for Memorial Day Weekend, and here we are- approaching it in just a few days!  During my blogging break, somehow I’ve managed to pull off a gender reveal party for Shawn’s brother’s family, I’ve gone to 5 plus baseball games, traveled a couple times a month, and haven’t pulled out my hair yet! I’m excited for this school year to end so I can get back to blogging on a regular basis again (hopefully!).

So here’s my few tidbits I want to share with you all today:

  1. I’ve blogged about this in the past I’m sure, but it’s okay to say NO.  And this is a huge one for me. I definitely need to learn to get better about saying it. It’s funny how it’s so easy for a little one’s first word to be NO, yet we forget how to use it when we get older.  I’ve gotten better about it, mainly because I seriously just can’t take on anything else, but it’s hard to do. Especially since I love pleasing others and helping in any way I can.
  2. If you’re flying, and you get on the airplane and you see a baby/toddler, be nice to them. It’s super stressful flying with a little one.  Especially when they start crying. They can’t tell you what’s wrong or that their ears hurt. It’s embarrassing for the adult flying with them when the little one is crying uncontrollably.  So be nice. We were all kids once, and I’m sure we’ve all done our share of crying.  And don’t be that rude person who asks “Is that crying baby going to fly to [fill in the blank]”.  Yes, that happened to us when we were flying one time.  When I said “no”, the lady tried to pull it off by saying “Oh no. He’s so cute.”
  3. I’ve learned that messes are okay. As long as you don’t let it get too far.  I try to look at it being “a home well lived in” rather than “a super disorganized home”.  Trust me- it’s super hard for me! I can not stand messes, food on the ground, clutter on the kitchen counter, etc. You get the idea.  But sometimes, it’s not worth the fight. I’ve learned to let it go for the most part.  I’ve learned to enjoy the day time and just make sure I clean up before going to bed. It’s saved my sanity and it’s helped me to relax just a little bit more.
  4. Lastly, have a support network – or “squad” as everyone likes to call it. People you can call on during a moments notice.  People who will support you no matter what.  People you can ask for prayer and know they’ll actually pray.  If it’s friends or family or both, make sure you have it.  It makes your life easier to know that there are others who are rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

