GUEST POST: 7 Things I Missed When I Left California

Hi friends! I want to introduce you to one of my dear friends Stephanie! Stephanie and I have been friends since 7th or 8th grade. (Typing that just made me feel really old…) Anyway, I asked Stephanie to do a guest post for me since I wanted you all to get to know her because coming up Stephanie and I will be working a lot with one another on something special for y’all!


ca

I didn’t realize how many things I’d miss about California when I moved away. I missed more than just my family, friends and old co-workers. I missed more than just my old stomping grounds and places where I made memories. Here are several things I miss the most:

1. In-N-Out Burger

in-n-out

Maybe it’s the sauce. Maybe it’s the burger. Maybe it’s just everything about In-N-Out. It’ll probably be one of my first stops the next time I’m back in the state.

2. Philz Coffee

philz

I know this might sound crazy when there are so many great coffee shops all over the world, but there’s no place quite like Philz. Sure, I can buy the beans and make my own Philz from home no matter what state I’m in, however that’s just not the same. I surprisingly miss the baristas asking me to take a sip to make sure the coffee is OK.

3. Good Asian and Mexican food

boba

You can argue with me all you want but I think the best (and most affordable) Asian and Mexican food can be found in the Bay Area. There is such a thing as bad boba and it’s a shame. NorCal knows good boba. That is all.

4. Avocado on demand

avocado

I normally don’t have to look hard on a menu for “avocado” anything. But now, I find myself looking for the word “California” on menus in hopes of finding something with avocado on it.

5. Language

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-12-46-01-pm

Why do people look at me like I’m crazy when I say, “hella” in a casual conversation? I don’t understand this “wicked” and “mad” business.

6. The ocean

ocean

I know you can see other oceans, but there’s something about the cold, salty Pacific that just feels like home.

7. Spontaneous weather

giphy

What’s with this on-and-off rain? Does nobody wear rain boots anymore? Well it’s impossible to if it’s just going to sprinkle here and there the whole day. I try to stay away from the sun as often as I can since I’m pretty pale, however when you don’t see the sun for a long period of time, you really learn how to appreciate it. And dry heat. I’ll take dry heat over humidity any day.

What did you miss when you left California?


unnamed

Stephanie Jade Wong is a digital journalist based in Brooklyn. She’s interested in reporting and editing about beauty and lifestyle.

Stephanie holds an M.A. in Arts Journalism from the Newhouse school at Syracuse University, and a B.S. in magazine journalism and minor in (cultural) anthropology from San Jose State University.

5 thoughts on “GUEST POST: 7 Things I Missed When I Left California

  1. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform
    you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough
    time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and
    style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic
    but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

